Ellyse Perry awarded with title of ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Ellyse Perry, the all-rounder for the Women’s Australia Cricket team has been named for the 2nd time in the last 3 years as the ICC Women’s Cricketer.

Ellyse Perry not only won the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award but also the ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year following her stellar performance for the year 2019.

29 years old Ellyse Perry has scored 2 ODI centuries in 2019 during matches against West Indies and New Zealand along with a ton at a Test match against England where she led the Ashes series victory for Australia.

In her 12 ODI appearances for 2019, Ellyse Perry scored an average of 73.50 runs as well as taking 21 total wickets including her record of 7 wickets by giving away 22 runs in a match against England in Canterbury.

Perry, who has become the first woman to have completed 1000 runs as well as 100 wickets in the T20 International cricket, said, “It is an amazing honor and I am a little bit shocked given how many amazing performances there have been across this year. It is amazing to get acknowledged and I really do appreciate this. On a personal note, this is a very great way to finish the year.”

Alyssa Healy, the teammate of Perry has been named as Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year following her world record of scoring 148 runs for not out off of 61 deliveries in a match played against Sri Lanka.

The inning played by Haley was the highest recorded one in the history of Women’s T20I cricket where she had made it to 3 figure mark after 46 balls.

Healy said, “I am really glad to be awarded the T20I Cricketer of the Year. The Australian Women Cricket team experienced an amazing 12 months and we played some really consistent T20 cricket.”

The ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year announced as per batting order is as follows.

1.Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia
2. Smriti Mandhana – India
3. Tamsin Beaumont – England
4. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia
5. Stafanie Taylor – West Indies
6. Ellyse Perry – Australia
7. Jess Jonassen – Australia
8. Shikha Pandey – India
9. Jhulan Goswami – India
10. Megan Schutt – Australia
11. Poonam Yadav – India

The ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year announced as per batting order is as follows.

  1. Alyssa Healy (wk) – Australia
    2. Danielle Wyatt – England
    3. Meg Lanning (c) – Australia
    4. Smriti Mandhana – India
    5. Lizelle Lee – South Africa
    6. Ellyse Perry – Australia
    7. Deepti Sharma – India
    8. Nida Dar – Pakistan
    9. Megan Schutt – Australia
    10. Shabnim Ismail – South Africa
    11. Radha Yadav – India

Related Content


Most Popular

To Top