Ben Stokes named as the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2019

Ben Stokes, the world cup winner of England Cricket team has been voted as the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2019.

The 28 years old cricketer, Ben Stokes has become the first cricketer to have won this award by BBC as the last one was in 2015, Andrew Flintoff. As for Ben Stokes, he was recognized for his unforgettable performance for the English cricket team in the summer when the World Cup was held.

In the public voting, the 2nd place was tied by Dina Asher-Smith and Lewis Hamilton while the third place was taken by Aberdeen.

Ben Stokes said about the award, “this is an individual award but I play in a team sport and one of the great things about this sport is that you get to share your moment with your teammates, coaches. Without an effort they put in, I would not have had been here to receive this award so I thank them all so much.”

Ben Stokes scored 84 runs for not pout in the final of World Cup against New Zealand to led his team’s first-ever World Cup title in the Super Over at Lord’s stadium in July.

After that, he scored 135 for not out at the 3rd Test of England VS Australia at the Ashes Series.

Other candidates on the 6-athlete shortlist were Katarina Johnson-Thompson; the champion of World heptathlon, Raheem Sterling; footballer of Manchester City and Alun Wyn Jones; the captain of the English Rugby team at the Rugby World Cup.

The award for the Greatest Sporting Moment of the Year also was awarded to England’s cricket team for their dramatic victory of the World Cup after Jos Butler sealed their win with his run out on the very last ball of Super Over.

The Coach of the Year award was given to John Blackie for guiding runner Dina Asher-Smith to win the World Championship gold for the 200m race held in Doha.

World Sport Star of the Year is won by Eliud Kipchoge after he became the first-ever person in the world to have run an entire marathon in a time of under 2 hours back in October.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Baroness Grey-Thompson the Eleven-time Paralympic champ.

Related Content


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top