Croatia wins Davis Cup title after defeat France

On Sunday afternoon in Lille at the final of the Davis Cup; Croatia finally was able to defeat France, the defending Champions to win the Davis Cup with a victory by 7-6, 6-3 and 6-3.

Croatia was on the lead with 2-0 under Borna Coric and Marin Cilic’s win against Jeremy Chardy and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga on Friday. However, on Sunday, France saw the hope when Nicolas Mahut and Pierre-Hugues Herbert won their match.

France; the sot team was looking to overturn the deficit of 2-1 which would have been the first since 1939 but their hopes came crashing down. They were in need to win both reverse singles on the final day.

Cilic defeated Pouille in a straight sets win to give Croatia a lead by 3-1 which gave Croatia a clinch to win their second Davis Cup since 2005.

Marin Cilic; the former US Open champion struggled in the first serve of the opening set but he did manage to win without facing any single break point.

Pouille who was a replacement for Jeremy Chardy by French team’s captain; made many repeated mistakes on his backhand.

Croatia who was previously the only unseeded nation to win the Davis Cup back in 2005 will now remain in the history books as the last winner for the old format of this year’s Davis Cup. From next year, the Davis Cup will revamp its format as the century-old format will end.

The 2019’s Davis up will be held in November in Madrid.

Related Content

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top